Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is one of the two policy-making bodies of the IAEA, along with the annual General Conference of IAEA Member States.

The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA's financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA's safety standards. It also appoints the Director General of the IAEA, with the approval of the General Conference. 

The Board generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in November.

Board Members for 2022-2023

The 35 Board Members for 2022-2023 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, Libya, Namibia, Pakistan, Qatar, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Türkiye, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, Uruguay and Viet Nam.

Officers of the Board

The Chair of the Board for the unexpired term of office for 2022-2023 is Mr. Ivo Sramek, Governor from the Czech Republic. 

He succeeds Mr. Ham Sangwook, former Governor from the Republic of Korea.

The Vice-Chairs are Mr Carlos Sérgio Sobral Duarte, Governor from Brazil and Mr Eoin O’Leary, Governor from Ireland.

Stay in touch